Pieces of a Jigsaw Puzzle

By szahra

Dubai Day 5

The image on the left is the Burj-al-Arab. Its a 7-star hotel and probably the most expensive hotel in the world ... atleast it was a few years ago. I haven't kept track of the fact if any other has broken the record or not ... lol!! Even entry to the hotel costs!! It is a very famous hotel with all the luxuries in the world but it really does not fascinate me much.

Dubai is famous for its architecture and has loads of strange looking huge buildings. Strangely, they really don't attract me much. This image is taken from our hotel room window because of which it is bluer than if taken from outside.

Next we decided to take the metro to the mall of Dubai. I loved the experience. Long walk from the hotel to the mall and then crossed the road to the metro station. It also reminded me of the London metro which I used extensively a few years ago when I visited the UK. Infact it is a modern version of the London metro, its just not underground.

After exiting the metro station we saw the tallest building in the world ... Burj-Khalifa ... I could not take a picture of it from my existing position and camera. I could not, sitting down and lying down. The pavement was burning with the heat but I tried to take pictures sitting down and lying down. Thank God there weren't too many people around, else I would have been the talk of Dubai ... lol!! This was the best I could do.

We spent the whole evening in the mall of Dubai strolling and shopping and then saw the aquarium. I didn't really like it as I have seen much better aquariums in Malaysia. After having dinner we went to see the Indian movie Aisha. Once again, not very impressed ... it was a Bollywood version of a chick flick ... Our evening ended with the Dubai fountains which is a beautiful sight. I have taken a video and I will try to upload on youtube and post a link ... no promises though.

We took a taxi (no more metro) back to Kempinski. Our taxi driver was a very friendly Egyptian guy named Khaled who chatted with us all the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.