Country File

By marypot

Party time!

Grace will be 3 years old tomorrow, but we celebrated the occasion with friends and family today since it is still the weekend. It was just perfect. In all there were 22 children and babies there, and about the same number of adults. The kids played together, had a game of 'Pass the Parcel' and some tried to 'pin the tail on the donkey'. We had oodles of party food and lashings of squash. Just in case the kids weren't hyper enough, I put some party blow-outs in the going home bags. I think my name will be mud in some households this evening...

Seriously though, I loved having so many people that we care about together in the one room. I loved seeing Grace so incredibly happy in every single moment; even when Hubby and I were cleaning up well after the guests had all gone home, she was still jumping around with a balloon, squealing with excitement.

A special mention must also go to my darling Ophelia, who fell asleep in her buggy when only the family were there and slept through the arrival of all the other guests, slept through a cacophany of sound, waking up about an hour later to find about 30 extra people in the room. She looked a bit bemused. She was still happily crawling around well after the end of the party too, though we also found her under the table at one point scrounging scraps from the floor, despite having troughed on and off all afternoon...that's my girl!

It's late now, and so I must to sleep, sparing a thought for farmer up the road who is desperately trying to get one of our hay fields baled before the rain arrives tomorrow. I think he'll be on most the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.