spitzimixi

By spitzimixi

what shall I blip today?

I asked Aïsha who was standing out the front of the house at 7.30 this morning waiting for the school taxi "that" she said and pointed. I looked...and blipped.

Here some waffle-y-ness from Spitziland: currently there's some posters up from the Swiss People's Party (SVP) - they're kind of nationalist/right wing but not as Hitlery as they were painted in the foreign press when we were voting about minerets. In my opinion, they are just a bit simple. Anyway, they've got some posters up at the moment and one I drive past on my way to work keeps getting ripped down and replaced. I assume some left-wing person is taking them down. The poster just says "Ausländer?" on it and tells you to go and look at this website (I wouldn't bother ;-)
Ausländer just means foreigner, which is fairly inoffensive, I think (and I am a foreigner!) - lefty person has now scrubbed some bits of the word out and added an S leaving Auslanders i.e. anders (other/different). So what is the difference between being 'foreign' and being 'different'? Which one is nicer? Personally, I'd rather the fact 'foreign, we're not sure if we want you' to the 'you're a bit weird and different but we'll pretend we like you' version. Who's most simple minded? The left or the right?
I'm not right-wing (not even in the slightest) but I'd rather accept reality than live in dreamland.

EDIT: behind the trees is a 40m drop to the river and then the hill climbs 100m up to these houses. I just used Google Earth to find out which village I was actually blipping and how far away it is, it's only a couple of km away as the crow flies, but with that height difference it might feel like it's a bit more if one walked it - the first bit would have to be abseiled!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.