Support

Today Mum was the best I've seen her and I think she surpassed anything Dad has seen too. There is a long way to go yet and it will be up and down. But we've seen more of the 'down's than 'ups' so hopefully things will still be good for Mum tomorrow.

Mum looked so much more comfortable in her big comfy chair, her voice was clearer and while very tired her trademark determination was the strongest I've seen it. She asked us to take her for walks around the ward.

Today's photo shows Dad's hand supporting Mum as they returned from her first walk. They asked me to take a photo of the two of them and Mum said I could blip that if I wanted. But my internal response was to go with their linked arms and hands.

It was hard to leave but a little easier because of the marked improvement today. Question marks and unknowns remain but I'm staying in the moment. I'm just so grateful to have seen Mum a little stronger and brighter, happily eating what we brought in and with more smiles than I've seen all week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.