Kia kaha

Kia kaha means 'be strong' in Maori (Maori being the language of the indigenous people of New Zealand). We're privileged to increasingly have Maori words and phrases commonly used.

Sometimes 'kia kaha' appears in the comments left for me, not only from other NZ blippers but even from Finland (thank you Nina).

Today I've done a big blitz on house work for Dad. It's a job never done but the main things are in order. I was thinking of blipping something related to domestic tasks but my mind kept straying to Mum's hands.

I'm not thinking of them as a series but more as going with the heart. For now that seems to be the right approach for me.

In the photo Mum has paused from the task of swallowing the home made soup I brought with us today. It's not easy for her to swallow and it takes a long time to eat anything. But she's determined and gets there. We left her making an impression on the hospital meal and eying up the container of chocolate mousse we brought with us again.

There is something surreal about this for me, it's like after 2 weeks we've almost made the abnormal normal. Dad was sitting in a chair helping Mum, Mum was propped up in a large comfy supportive chair and I was sprawled across her bed taking photos. As I looked at her hands with bruise marks from the constant pin pricks to monitor her blood sugar, I thought "kia kaha".

The struggles continue with more question marks today, but Mum was more comfortable and her breathing was easier. We've gone with the positives and will leave the question marks with her medical team to unfold.

Dad and I watched the All Blacks versus Spring Bok's match tonight. I think it's the second time I've relaxed all week. He enjoyed having my company to watch it and despite my usual protestations about rugby, I enjoyed it too :-) (shhh, don't tell anyone ;-)

Tomorrow will be a big and difficult day as I leave Mum and Dad and fly home. My plan at this stage is to return in a matter of weeks once Mum is home and they can do with some more support. Tomorrow's flight is a late one so I will back blip on Tuesday.

Kia kaha.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.