Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Heart

"It's a nice little photo of me Mama, but I'm a little sad because you've made it all black and white and you're supposed to be able to see the lovely red heart I drew for you on what you told me and Reu Reu are your lovely new white walls. I put it in this special place under your table so you can see it every time you look at all the photos of me and Reu Reu.

Love Callum xoxo"


I can feel it take hold again: I've had an extraordinary 6 weeks away from the freedom (or confines) of cyberspace and I can surmise with such an absence the following:
- the amount of access to the net is inversely proportional to the number of books I read to the boys daily
- I am inclined to select OUT photos in camera, often to make space where I am encumbered by the lack of a travelling hard drive, and this is known to be an ineffective way of managing workflow (or family-photo flow in this case), the more efficient method being to select IN so that you handle a fewer number of photos.

Whilst I certainly missed the creative expression here on Blip for that period, the great surprise on happening upon a beautiful image, the shock of another, the mind games played with yet another in an effect to try to break the code of how a shot was taken, I actually didn't miss being offline for so long. I totally adored the evenings when I would routinely have Blipped or edited my photos instead struggling to do the boys' bedtime routine, meds, tube feeds, treatments, stories, CBeeBies In the Night Garden.

Does anyone have any good advice on how to handle said addiction? It is in part due at present to the need to wade through all these disparate disks and uploads which I carried back from the UK and Scandinavia trip. That said, is Blip actually legal? Thoughts on a postcard please.

PS I didn't mean this to sound so bad. I absolutely love it here, love the welcome, love that I've finally found a community of silly people with a shared crazy passion. OK it's 2am, more backBlips up so please make it worth my while and give 'em a passing glance ;-)

BackBlips:
Meeting Mum at the airport

Russia: Catherine's Palace, St Petersburg

Welcome home to the UK

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.