PlanW

By PlanW

The Future's Not Ours To See

Que Sera Sera*

Not a great day today by any measure. My lovely little cat Doris died. I got her 15 years ago in August 1995 and she was secondhand then so not entirely sure how old she was. She was the sweetest little cat. So pretty with long black hair. I posted a picture of her the other day but I can't remember what day it was right now.

In 1995 I was between houses, English sale/purchase/chain nightmare, and a woman I knew who was involved in the Cat Protection League took my cats in to her cattery and kept them for months for pennies. There are good people about you know, if you look. As part of the deal, I got Doris, a cat who had come in and had kittens while she was there. Once the CPL had me in their debt, there's no shaking 'em off and so I used to foster kittens for them (although I'd have paid to do it, you get a fresh set of kittens to play with every few weeks!) and Doris would always take care of them like they were here babies. She did the same when I brought my puppy home 10 years ago and she saw him out.

I made an entry a few weeks back (14 July?) when the vet diagnosed lung cancer/heart failure/mixamatosis. Doris had been coughing and wheezing. Turns out it was my fault because I put her bed in front of the fireplace and she was breathing in soot! ! I moved the bed and she made a miraculous recovery. However, when you're 400 years old the grim reaper is always ready to call. Anyway, she's gone now.

Shit blip but I haven't got anything else to offer. This is a micro-chip tag.


Doris Day, longtime ago, who Doris was named after because she was so pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.