Photo Journal

By mlp

Quilt

Just finished this a couple of days ago, I'm so happy with how it turned out. Although I am not as happy with this photo, the picture blocks are much clearer than they appear to be.
I alluded to it in a previous blip I guess now i can explain it.

My concept this semester in my advanced ceramics class is to make pieces which both attract and repulse the viewer basically. This is a project for that class where we were assigned to create a piece with some material other than clay but using our same concept.
So I created a quilt that many may find too unpleasant to snuggle up under. I used photographs I have taken and printed them onto fabric to create those blocks. In fact some of these pictures, or variations of them have been posted on here.
Another view of the winged ants
A different angle on the squished lizard
And of course the aforementioned fish who feature here in a much more unpleasant appearance.

Thanks to my grandmother who provided me with the sewing machine and guidance, if not for her i wouldn't have been able to complete this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.