Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Just cruising in the Baltics

Leaving Sweden yesterday, another scorching day with the highlights of a ferry boat trip, walking through the Old Town, the promenade along the waterfront and then the seemingly endless, wonderful sail through the Swedish archipelago, 1000s of tiny islands, marked our final port of call on our cruise.

And today we have little more to care about than idly walking the teak promenade, great food and reminiscing on our trip.

It's a glorious day. Callum nestles into me and sleeps after a frolic in the toddler pool.

A sense of euphoria hits the boat as everyone runs from their early evening meals to go up on deck and watch as we cross under one of the largest suspension bridges in the world, all heads raised up and delighting at the spectacle. Our ship has taken on extra water to ensure it's low enough to pass under. Does it make it? We're all there to see.

I love these nights at sea and even manage to squeeze in a show in the Disney theatre, a magic show, some line dancing and a tranquil sit in the sessions piano bar. I haven't taken much opportunity to venture beyond anything child friendly as that hasn't been the point, but tonight I made an exception. I have 4 weeks of fun with the boys ahead of me in the UK.

We have two full days at sea as we head back to Dover where it all began. We are so far north that the sun has barely set as I step out onto the deck, the feeling of the wind picking up in my hair, and the once smooth, silky, silent waters, beginning to stir. There is a change at sea and I am exhilarated to feel it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.