Thistle Down

By Ethel

My Children's Mother

I'm glad sometimes for what I've done,
And sometimes for the things I've been.
But most exciting of it all,
Is knowing...I'm the mother of ten.

For I wouldn't know how much my gain,
Or how it would turn out to be.
But when my figures were laid out straight,
I up and borrowed three.

With three little roosters I wouldn't know,
Without a baby at my breast.
Nor would I know the joy that comes,
When loving hands lift to caress.

I wouldn't know the upper pride,
Of fixing soft, beautiful curls.
Of sending them off to Sunday School,
On the head of my little girls.

I wouldn't know about boy ideas,
Or how the whittling goes.
If a whirl-i-gig hadn't sat on the fence,
To catch the wind when it blows.

O I wouldn't know the matter of girls,
And why they were stirring in tin.
If the cake that they baked stayed flat because,
No baking-powder had ever gone in.

I wouldn't know what God wanted of me,
Or the best part of life I should live.
Should I offer the high and honored things,
And how much to each must I give?

For I've never wished to be somebody else,
And draw a wage at the store.
I never wanted to laugh with a crowd,
And make my life such a bore.

This sacred trust that I have each day,
I wouldn't change for another.
For a joy comes to me in no other way,
By being...my children's Mother.


E.P. 1908 - 1989

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.