Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Forever Friends

We've known John & Gail for almost 35 years. A phone call from them last night allowed us to pencil in a chance meeting for the four of us to share a meal today. They live on Fidalgo Island in the Pacific Northwest, and we see them seldom. Years ago they lived here and we saw them a lot.

John laughs more than anyone I know at Mr. Fun's crazy jokes. It's just fun to watch and then we're all laughing. Even though it's been several years since we've been with them, all the void that time has created melts in an instant when we sit across a table from them having a meal and conversing.

We compared photos of grandkids and kids and shared the many memories that we all collectively carry in special tucked away places . . . memories that make us laugh, some that make us cry, and some that just take our breath away. All of them bind us together with an invisible thread of wonder.

So I know that seeing this photo will be rather meaningless to my blipfriends; however, months from now this page in my journal will cause me to pause, sigh a little, and enjoy the memories all over again. That's just one of the benefits of this terrific website.

Thanks to everyone for the caring comments after viewing yesterday's photo of the memorial service for David. The family has now scattered back to our various homes and numerous obligations, but each of us is having to care for our wounded hearts and think through all the memories and photos that we shared yesterday of one who will no longer be with us here on earth.

In less than an hour I need to be in my online office with my students. So I better get ready.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.