Still Alive

By rinkkasatiainen

Bessvatnet - Gjendesheim

Distance: 3.9km
Time: 2h30min

We woke up at 7am - an hour before the decided alarm. I went to the neighbor camp for a chat (as my group wasn't up yet).
Porridge for breakfast. We started our descent towards Gjendesheim at 9:!5. The views were not that good until we were close enough to see the lake Gjende.
We had one 30min break. The last kilometers were easy and fast.
Arrived safely to Gjendesheim at 11:45. A beer, phone call to the loved ones and a local lunch.

* The last meters of the hike were unforgettable. When the Gjendesheim lodge was just within few hundred meters, I stopped and sat on the ground. I ate some blueberries and was happy. If I only had music at the time strengthening my feelings. I would've wanted just to lie down and relax. I was happy.
I enjoyed the most of the last meters before reaching the goal - everyone was safely and happily out of the wilderness. The feeling was great.


***
Picture: The group on the descent towards Gjendesheim. Lake Gjende behind us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.