roots and wings

By rootsandwings

swerving to avoid frogs

first it is vital to mention that today it rained. and rained. and rained. come nightfall, the world was saturated with wetness.

when i turned down some country roads making a detour on my way home from teaching a few lessons, headed toward the farm to collect my milk, i was in for a big surprise. for miles (and not just a few, upwards of 30 miles) every few seconds i would see the white underside of a frog in my headlights, flinging himself across the road. they were everywhere! sitting waiting until their next move, hopping along across the pavement, unfortunately splattered all over the road by passing cars. i found myself slowing down, eyes peeled, swerving trying to avoid them. most definitely a phenomenon i have never experienced before!

and after collecting my milk, and being talked into staying for some cards and cocoa, hours later - they were still there, fearless frogs crossing the road, as i made my way home late in the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.