NoodlePix

By Pix

Kit

Tomorrow is the Nine Edges race I have mentioned before. It's 20 miles across the peak district and I have been preparing successfully for months. Yet 2 days ago I developed a bit of a cold that I have yet to shake off. So, I don't know if tomorrow I shall be able to run at all, never mind beat my target time of 4 hours :(

No worries, if I can't run I shall join the walkers who take the same route as the runners, and enjoy the company and the scenery more than I'd be able to if I was running and watching my feet all the time.

For my packing I have learnt some lessons from last year in assembling the requisite kit:
the route on bits of laminated map (rather than 2 whole OS maps I carried last year!);
minimalist hat (buff) and gloves (silk);
survival bag, or blanket (they will tell us tomorrow which is needed)
water proof coat and full leg cover;
compass;
water and food (three energy gels);
electronic "dibber" for recording my presence at the required checkpoints.

Plus some non-required kit:
gps watch to help me pace.

Wish me luck!

http://www.justgiving.com/chrislittler


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.