Meles

By meles

"I've been up to London"

Spent the morning trying to organise myself (!) then set off on the train for London. It was a nice surprise to see DH again briefly in Waverley, due to the archaeology being rained off for the afternoon and him being on his way home.

I was surprised that there was a stag party returning from Edinburgh in quite such a loud and drunken condition that early in the afternoon. Maybe they hadn't been to bed. Even with my mp3 player at max volume I could still hear their bellowing. I thought from the accents that they might leave the train at Newcastle or maybe Durham and most did, though a couple stayed on till Darlington. I hope for her sake that the bride-to-be is as empty headed as her groom.

The weather was wild and wonderful viewed from inside the train - some of the most amazing cloudscapes I think I've ever seen, but I didn't get a decent shot of them.

Staying at L's flat - had a lovely evening with food and wine and catching up with each others' lives. The picture is a painting of Blackie, a dear departed animal. She is correctly depicted with one piece of cat food remaining on her saucer; she always left just one, as if it comforted her to know that there was a bit of food left for a rainy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.