Meles

By meles

A day off

L and I had been thinking of going to Kew Gardens but the weather was so cold and rainy that we went instead for the warm dry interior of the British Museum. We trekked round looking at some of the objects from the "History of the World in a Hundred Objects" that's currently going out on the radio. I don't think we can have seen more than about 25 of them, although we saw lots of other things as we passed by. The oldest item was a stone chopping/cutting tool from Olduvai in Tanzania, at approx 2 million years. It still had a visibly sharp edge that would no doubt cut nicely through a hide.

I was astonished that there appeared to be no ban on photograpy; the museum was very busy and flashbulbs were popping all over the place. Some of the ancient stone carvings had signs saying "Please do not touch", but there was a full size replica of the Rosetta Stone which had a sign saying "Please touch"! There was a whole skeleton of a beaker person in a glass case (with beaker) who had been buried in Cambridgeshire that I tried to blip for DH, but it didn't come out very well. In the end I went for the Lewis Chessmen, with L on the far side of the case reading all about them.

When we started to get a bit footsore we went and had lunch in a nearby Korean eatery - first time I'd tried Korean food. Very interesting and quite tasty. L then caught a train back to Oxfordshire and I came back to the flat and entertained myself with trying to work out if I could upload a couple of blips via her laptop. It worked, eventually (although with scarcely any editing possible) - but not before I had investigated her infrequently used laptop and discovered that there were over a hundred missing Windows updates......it did take rather a long time.

All good now!

;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.