Today's the day

By sheilwill

Poppy

Today's the day ....................... to come home

Hello everyone! I'm back from my week away and raring to catch up on all the blipping that has gone on in my absence ........

I had a really great time though - on a narrowboat with four very old, good friends. I say 'very old' meaning length of time that we have known each other rather than actual age. We were all Hull University students together back in the early 70s and we meet up at this time every year to spend a bit of time catching up with each other. This is a picture of Poppy - No 1 Barge Dog - who very quickly became part of the gang.

We navigated round the 'Stourport Ring' this time, which took us through places like Worcester and Kidderminster - and eventually through Wolverhampton and Birmingham. We went through over 120 locks and saw some amazing sights - some beautifully rural and others more industrial from a bygone age when the canals provided the main means of transportation for all that was going on in the 'Black Country'.

I hope to do a bit of back-blipping ........... and see what you have all been up to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.