Norm.

Daughter headed off back down to Glasgow for the start of term. Tomorrow the music and the gigging starts in earnest. She's just about to start a work placement with Zakir Hussein too. Should be really good. Enjoy!

Back on the home front, had more people quoting "protocol" at me when I queried the need for investigations that seem to have little, if any, therapeutic benefit. What I would give for a medic that could think outside the box right now.

Got a phone call from DWP wanting me to have an interview to make sure that I'm a fit person today as well. Just exactly what is "a fit person"? Really find it hard to get away from the moralizing aspect of that one.

Which brings me to the picture, on manual and probably underexposed. Apparently there are many exposures (duh) but only "one creatively correct" one. Who says what that is? It's like "protocols" and "fit people", it's all about conformity to a socially acceptable norm.

Therein lies the paradox - how do you take a picture that is different, a picture that presents things to the viewer in a different way, while still adhering to the "norm"? Damned if I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.