nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Waiting

Today I went to Folkestone for a breath of fresh air and I ended up at the Battle of Britain Memorial at Capel-le-Ferne. For those unfamiliar with this site it is very simple. A larger-than-life statue of a young airman sits on a raised dais looking out over the clifftop at the French coast little more than 20 miles away. The dais is at the meeting place of three paths which are shaped to form the blades of a propeller - the dais is the propeller boss. There is also a memorial wall which lists those who took part in the battle; The Few, and a replica Spitfire and a replica Hurricane. The memorial is surrounded by grassy banks which serve to keep the area quiet and peaceful.

Obviously I took a few photographs while I was there and the first one I uploaded shows the statue with more of the landscaping but I wasn't happy with the sky and angle - it's not clear that he's looking out to sea. I also started blipping a shot from the front of the statue. I finally decided on the one I've used because I think being this close humanises the statue. It also catches the title on the dais and the wall in the background as well as the wreaths. All up I think it's got all the bits I wanted.

The whole set is on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.