Gable Erratic

By MsGable

ON THE WAY TO WORK

My favourite off piste route to work seemed to have a road closed sign up, but it didn't register until I'd gone by. Never mind; PB battled through the potholes, and it was far too early for the workmen anyway.

Have just returned from a village meeting concerning the annual Appleby Fair visitors who stop off for a couple of weeks on the football field. There was an informative presentation from another area about how they had improved their situation; but their problems did not seem to be ours. There was a gruff and decidedly unapproachable policeman who made it clear he would rather not have been invited; and a lot of village disharmony between certain of the attendees. It got quite raucous and excitable at times. I wonder who won't be speaking to whom tomorrow.

But I was delighted to see that the Gypsies and Travellers are know as G and Ts in the trade; though I resisted when I got home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.