Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Cross my heart

T reminded me this morning that today marks 22 years of unmarried two-getherness for us. I had forgotten it again. He always remembers the date, and loves me even when I forget.

I never thought, 22 years ago, that when I invited him to join me on a fiaker ride through Vienna's old town - armed against the autumn cold with only a bottle of bubbly and rusty flirtation skills - we'd still be together today. Hooray for us!

He knows I don't care for cut flowers, so he's bought me some nice wine and good chocolate. And he carved me this simple heart out of oak, a symbol of strength and endurance. What a sweetheart this man is.

To mark the occasion, I'm posting the Billy Collins poem "Litany" read by the poet himself. The poem starts at around 1:45 into the clip. Those who know us well will recognise the sense of irreverent fun that we've always enjoyed in our relatonship.

Love you, Skunk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.