Work in Peace

Up later this morning. Took Juno for a long walk to the allotment.

When we reached Craiglockhart Hill we could hear one of the local charity's pipe band playing tunes, they are obviously trying to drum up some support. It had been very quiet this morning with the greyness shrouding Edinburgh. When we reahed the canal I could here the kids playing football, joyous screams.

Just before the allotment I heard light hammering, I searched for the source. Then I spotted Gino. I asked permission to take his photo, I took one of him working his head down, but when he smiled I had to take another.

Gino was adding another line to a gravestone, he was sitting on an old settee cushion, flask by his side armed with a chisel and hammer.

He left his work to come up to the fence to chat and clap Juno. What a cheery man, thanks Gino.

At the allotment I cut back all the raspberries, they have a virus and need replacing. I will try and get down tomorrow to burn them.

Picked some more brambles, Juno has mastered the tongue curl to take them without getting any thorns. There is something very relaxing in picking berries.

A general tidy up and Eco mum came to get us.

A quiet afternoon, no football tomorrow so Eco daughter has some friends up for a sleep over. Rules issued, it is a sleep over not a stay up over.

Eco son maybe playing his first game of rugby tomorrow, we will be the last to know no doubt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.