Orchid99

By orchid99

Gaudi's Palau Guell

One of my favourite buildings by the brilliant and different architect, Gaudi, is the Palau Guell.

This is a gem hidden away off the Ramblas, in Barcelona. It is down a side street and very hard to photograph, with bright and strange turrets like multicoloured mushrooms. But for me it is the ironwork and the intricate tracery that appeals.

It's even harder to capture in pouring rain and with half the facade covered for refurbishment - but I have tried.

I have mixed feelings about the Sagrada Familia, Gaudi's most famous masterpiece.

I went there in 1992 with my husband and loved it - few tourists and it had that magical aura in the days when it had few towers and a sense of mystery. Now that they have done so much more and there are tourist stands and crowds, it has lost so much in my opinion. I don't believe it was ever intended to be completed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.