Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Portraiture

In photographic portraiture it's important to keep a few things in view, namely, eyes, mouth, nose, that sort of thing. When you DIY with f2.8 handheld, you're doomed Mr Mannering! *

Boys are out for a daytrip, so I lounged round in a beautiful silver dress, put on some lippy and took a snap. As you do.

This is dedicated to my dear friend Polly now living in Brisbane whose birthday it is today. Sweet 41.

And if you think this is bad, you should see the rest.. Ah well, I'm almost out of 41 so I thought I should capture me in one last time.

PS Itching to post my wedding shots from yesterday which is really what I was busy doing all day. Just waiting the ok from the 1st photographer. I really focused on true colours, or subtleties of muted colours which is often a different journey from the current vogue in digitally enhanced portraiture. My rationale for this is to create timeless, classic images. I don't feel comfortable with two other trends either: the couple acting as if they're on a first date and feigning coyness, or the second, stern faced fashion portraiture for weddings. It's about love, isn't it? And you have to see that in their eyes as in here or here.

PPS Have a referral from last week's maternity shoot so delighted to be doing another maternity session this weekend on the beach, then Shannon's newborn twin session when they're here and a family session booked on the beach in November. I'll be happy if work as a full time mother and part time photographer stays just like this: nothing more, nothing less. I don't wish to be away from the boys for longer than it takes to capture something beautiful and then I can edit away at night whilst they're sleeping, til Scandinavia wakes up in the morning and kind folk like mly write lovely things.

* Sorry Americanos, you may not have heard of Dad's Army.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.