Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Reminds me of Ivy.

This fantastic jar belonged to Miss Ivy Wylie, a friend of mine who died nearly 2 years ago at the age of 92. Every year she used it to make rumtopft. Layers of fruit, sugar and rum left to soak for weeks, if not months.
I know that it is probably too late to start if I want something for Christmas, but I am really tempted. I came across this recipe on the net, but am always open to other variations! I have lovely memories of her pouring this delicious, fruity, alcoholic syrup over Orkney ice cream - my mouth waters thinking about it.

I have no idea whether or not this jar is a modern reproduction, but I love to think that it has been around since 1891.

By the way, it may not be as evident here as it is in the original, but there are some spooky reflective images which leap out at me on this; one is to the left of the red reflection of the kettle, and the other is on the name plate. Do you see them?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.