roots and wings

By rootsandwings

bursting at the seams

this week is my last in this northeast michigan town. it seems to have snuck up on me, and today i realized how much i have found my place in the community here, and how much i will miss it.

i had a meeting at a rural elementary school ive been working with. not by chance, fulfilling duties with all the organizations i help has found me at this school. planting and caring for a native butterfly garden with the 2nd graders. planning lessons with a fourth grade teacher. helping the principal become a part of the northeast michigan great lakes stewardship initiative. i was there today to share the details of the $6000 grant we just awarded the school's project to build an outdoor classroom. (exciting, right!) as i started to make my way toward the door, the principal started telling me that i better be their school's peace corps pen pal and the secretary insisting i keep in touch, saying over and over how much the school will miss me.

its interesting how places become a part of you, no matter how short a time you've spent with them.

i shot this on my way home from the school, and thought it fitting as it seems im bursting at the seems with emotions! sadness to leave some really great people this job has connected me to. excitement to spend some time on the west coast with great old friends. hopeful about what the next 6 months will bring into my life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.