Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Drawing Faces

I know all the bits that make up a face and where they need to go on a picture (even eyebrows!). I say what they are when I'm drawing them to help Mum and Dad to understand my abstract portraits.

Today was one of those days where Orla astounds me. This happens sometimes, as if she suddenly takes a huge leap forward in her development. I was late home from work, so the face was already drawn. Honestly, it was very impressive. Quite distinctly a face (with a body, even if it was just a stick) and when I asked her what she had been doing, she told me - "drawing faces". She seems to have made advances in her sense of self. This morning when she was cleaning her teeth, I asked her if she was brushing them and she said "yes I am". Up until now, she has pretty much exclusively referred to herself in the third person. What I was really impressed with though was just before bedtime, when I was changing her nappy and talking to her about bedtime stories, she suddenly said to me "on a dark and stormy night on plum street", which is the first line from one of her books (Kiss Goodnight, Sam) but a book we haven't actually read for ages! She didn't actually want to read that book, though. She wanted Mr Tickle and The Bear Snores On. When we had finished reading, she said to me "thank you Mum for the stories". Which was lovely. But what wasn't so lovely is that she then wouldn't go to sleep for another 45 minutes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.