as far as cho-fu-sa

By emilymariko

Today Marisa and I went to church at St. Ruprecht's Kirche, which is officially my new favorite church in Vienna. It is the oldest church in Vienna and has gone through many renovations through time. It's built in the Romanesque style, but after the Gothic they white washed all the walls and covered up the Romanesque frescoes, which is really sad, but it created a really interesting aesthetic that I actually really liked. The oldest stained glass window in Vienna is also in this church, located behind the altar, but the windows that I was in love with are these windows, which I later learned are modern, which I guessed, but they were installed I think ink 1995, so they're very new. I personally like this adding to architecture, it makes me think that it's like some sort of record of time keeping just a little bit from all the periods the building has existed through. The service was also really amazing. There was a lot of singing and all the songs were gregorian chant style and sung in rounds. It was absolutely beautiful and I noticed that none of the cadences were plagal. Instead of going from the usual I-IV all the cadences were i-v and minor, except for "amen" which was major I-V. It was just so different. I loved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.