as far as cho-fu-sa

By emilymariko

Today Amanda and I took a day trip to Hallstatt. Which meant that we had to catch a train at 5:40 am. After two times missing the Ubahn and having to wait for another I arrived across the street from the train station at 5:39am. (Amanda had my train ticket) I sprinted as fast as I could through traffic up the stairs to the platform and just as the conductor did a last look out I jumped on the train and as my left foot left the ground the train took off. Ya, I jumped onto a moving train, no big deal. But Hallstatt was absolutely beautiful! It was so gorgeous, even though it was a cloudy day. We had a leisurely coffee when we got there then went to the salt mines (pictured above, that's a little lake, the ceiling is reflected) after that we had roasted chicken from a stand for lunch. We walked around all the shops and stopped by a little place where an elderly man sold hand carved nick nacks, it was adorable! Then we went to St. Michaels church and cemetery. The grave stones were made out of wood and kind of looked like bird houses, I have no idea how that's maintained... Then we went to the charnel house. A charnel house is where bones that were dug out of graves to make room for more people in the old graves are put, but the charnel house in Hallstatt is really cool, because all of the skulls are painted with the name of the person and designs. They were really pretty. It was a really great day and it was really nice to get away from the city and see the mountains!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.