Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Riverside Art Walk

Fifteen years ago people used to think I was Karin and that she was me. We both had long brunette hair and stood about the same height. I would be busily working the solo photocopy machine in the mail room at the college and someone would walk in and call out, "Karin." I'd spin around with a smile on my face and say, "No!" and then the statement, "Carol! I thought you were Karin!"

Karin would tell me that the same thing would happen to her.

Karin is our full time professor of art at the college where we've both been teaching for the past 20 years.

A number of years ago Karin changed hairstyles; we no longer confuse others, but we remain colleagues and friends who have the highest respect for each other.

This evening was the "Art Walk" in downtown Riverside; Karin's art is displayed in one of the featured galleries. Music accented the evening as Karin's husband, Robert, and his band were performing just outside the gallery. His band includes several guys from the college: the biology professor and one of our newer deans. The band sounds terrific.

A number of years ago we had the opportunity to hear Robert and Karin perform their music and we enjoyed them immensely. Here's a tiny video clip of Karin's art and their music. If the entire DVD were available, I'd purchase it.

A table in our home is an art piece that Karin created years ago and at one point when she was moving and I helped her, she gave it to me. I treasure this table and have received many compliments when others see it.

For this evening's date night, Mr. Fun & I drove to Riverside and an early dinner at the Yard House restaurant (pictured above). He ordered salmon. I ordered Margherita Pizza at half-price because it was happy hour -- it made me happy. We also shared a half-price Caesar salad. He had half of my pizza and I shared his salmon. Then we journeyed a few more miles east to downtown Riverside for the Art Walk were the sidewalk emitted the heat of this 100 degree day.

I didn't purchase one of Karin's paintings, but I did buy a pair of her handcrafted earrings. Maybe tomorrow I'll aim the viewfinder at my new jewelry and tell the story of why they needed to come home with me.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.