Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Porcelain at the Victoria and Albert

I don't suppose that this is officially part of the museum's exhibits. But 'flies' such as this are glazed into the gents' urinals at the V & A. Last time I visited, I was without camera, but this time I deliberately brought my camera, and invented a need to visit. I fear that I attracted some sidelong glances as I was photographing...

I was a bit fascinated by this unusual bit of decoration, but learned after my first visit that there are examples around elsewhere. According to one report, there is a bit of psychology at work. Many men try, without really seeing that this is not a real fly, to wash it down, and as a consequence their aim is much better than is usually the case.

Oh, yes! The real reason that we were at the V & A was to visit the Diaghilev exhibition, which was absolutely fascinating. I was, however, a bit taken aback that @iamamro's feline familiar, Mr Pushkin by name

see see this Blip, for example,

was mentioned many times. For example, he cropped up in connection with some opera or other about Boris, who I thought to be the Mayor around here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.