Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Morning across the Meadow

A few mornings a year the sky here wakes us with a splash of color. The upstairs master bedroom is the place to view this spectacular sight. This photo is compliments of Mr. Fun, who stepped into the cold chilly air on the outside deck to capture this sight.

My car is in the shop, so Mr. Fun drove me to the campus. Fifteen minutes before opening, I stepped into the Writing Center to turn on the printers, the attendance computers, and the thirty student computer workstations. Then back to my office to gather my things for my two-hours in the lab.

A few minutes after 8:00 the Writing Center director, Melissa, stopped in and she told me that her family is dealing with all the snow in the state of Washington and trying to re-route their Thanksgiving plans. The northwest is under a blanket of snow. Our conversation ended when a student needed help with her paper.

Later when I stepped out of the classroom, the sky was full of clouds, some bright white and some stormy dark. The view was beautiful. Later in the day after Mr. Fun had come to the campus to give me a ride home, we stopped at the closest grocery store to purchase a few things and on the way back to the car, I clicked the sky as the clouds deepened to dark charcoal and far off in the distance I could see a spot of orange sunset, but I couldn't capture it.

The best photo of the day was morning. It may have been the best moment all day also as we each sipped our coffee and spent a quiet few moments together before accelerating into the unknown. Today is Mr. Fun's little brother, David's, birthday. He's been gone now for four months. It was a hard day for my mother-in-law.

Now the day is over. It's dark, cold, and certainly time to get to the warmth of the fireplace in the family room and a cup of hot tea. Tomorrow is the day before my favorite holiday. I love autumn.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.