Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

From Pumpkins . . .

From Pumpkins to poinsettias . . . the seasons collide.

The poinsettias are beautiful and I enjoy them immensely. We saw this sight late this afternoon and it is the visual of exactly what I was referring to on yesterday's page, the crazy rush to get into the next season . . . the colliding of two seasons.

So I rather enjoyed the evening news report that a local well-known upscale department store, Nordstorms, will not display any Christmas decorations until the day after Thanksgiving. I'm not sure how they do that, but they do. I commend them for this lovely behavior. They must hire an amazing crew of people for each location to be 100% transformed from the time the store closes on Wednesday evening until the store re-opens after the holiday, early on Friday morning.

So with my photo I've placed a little bit of Christmas into this Thanksgiving week. If there were two holidays that complement each other, it would be these two.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. The phone rang while we were eating dinner. It was our daughter. She and hubby were at Costco, and wanted me to know that the store has huge poinsettias for $14.99. She purchased two of them for me and then brought them here. The plants are now on our patio in the very chilly air. How ironic -- Christmas is just outside our door. That's okay, I'm going to enjoy Thanksgiving until this week has concluded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.