The GPO

I have put a bit of thought into my Crimbo cards this year. I didn't take one of the three easy options available to me: a) getting the concierge to do it, b) using UK 2nd class stamps and sending through work or c) getting a colleague to post them when she goes back to the UK later this week.

Oh no. I tootled off down to the General Post Office, which is just south of the VT station. It's a great big, impressive Government building, which unfortunately means that photography is prohibited. :-( I had three colleagues with me (they'd never been to an Indian PO before - I had vague recollections of sending some postcards from Cochin PO in '05) and they thought it was great too! So this is taken from outside. I think I prefer it to this red & white one, which was also just outside.

I located the correct 'window' and bought the right stamps. Self adhesive / Sticker stamps? Oh no... We went to a raised table and stuck them all on individually, using the gooey glue that is verrry messy! The first few that were stuck looked as if a two-year old had stuck them! A couple were stuck on upside down too. Thanks for your help though girls - I'd have been there for ages!

Fingers crossed that after all the effort, they get there. Before Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.