Off to new beginnings

By preussischblau

Marrons glacés

When I lived in France I grew to love these beauties. They melt on the tongue and are just pure delight (and sugar...). In France you got them in the supermarket before Christmas in big packs and their relative cheapness (together with the good bread, cheese, patisseries...) made for me putting on quite some weight during those years.

In Edinburgh, I only saw them at Valvona & Crolla where they were hideously overpriced and I never could bring myself to buy them at that kind of price.

Today, at the KaDeWe (the Berlin Harrods), in the AMAZING food department, I found them again. A pack of 6 came at 40 euros, but you could buy them loose... for only 3 euros 50.

I will meditate later whilst I eat it my ONE marron, to make sure I really appreciate it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.