Cape Hatteras

I cycled to the lighthouse this morning to enjoy the sunshine. It is Thanksgiving day, November, and yet the air is warm! It was so warm I laid in the sand with my shirt off and soaked in the sun. Yes, tanning on Thanksgiving morn...

I chose the perfect spot. Squashed between the tall lollipop minaret of the lighthouse on one side and the eastern sunrise glinting of the ocean on the other. Tucked away from the wind by a hollow beneath the dunes and sea oats. Sitting there so patiently and just looking, simply looking out on that beautiful ocean all lit up was food for the soul. Living earnestly in the now without distraction.

Maybe it was a sign, but eventually I began to notice dolphins in the waves. A family of them hunting and playing through the surf migrating down the beach. A flick of a tail, the roll of a dorsal fin, and a few times I even caught sight of what I could only recognize as play. They must have found a school of fish and pushed them into a ball near the surface. Soon clouds of cormorants, shearwaters, and pelicans were diving and dolphins were rolling in one feast...

A great Thanksgiving feast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.