Snapping Aboot

By rxpell

Stuffed Puffin

Arrived at Heathrow this morning after a 13 hrs 15 mins flight from Singapore to find that my flight back to Aberdeen was cancelled due to snow and BA were saying it would be tomorrow before I'd get a seat on another one.

After a further 2 hrs 30 mins queueing at Customer Service, one option I was given was to go to Glasgow or Edinburgh today (and avoid risk of getting snowbound tomorrow). I opted for Glasgow and got a standby seat on a mid-day flight, and I've stopped to visit my parents in Kilbarchan, although my luggage has gone off on its own little sidetrip somewhere else. Anyway, before I fall asleep from exhaustion, I've snapped this stuffed puffin to blip today.

I brought this puffin back as a present when I went to the first Faroe Islands v Scotland fitba game several years ago, it was a fine trip that involving a 24 hr voyage from Aberdeen to Torshavn. I remember getting a tax refund on this puffin and spending it on beer on the boat on the way home to Aberdeen.

Sadly, Strandfaraskip Landsins no longer operate the epic Aberdeen - Torshavn ferry service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.