Hoping for a train

A shorter than usual day in Gateshead - rumours of total train stoppage south of Peterborough reached me so I headed back mid afternoon. Come to think of it, it was a shorter than usual day, being the shortest. The train home wasn't that full (since it had only started from York rather than London), but I had the opportunity to listen to many dismal travellers' tales as they described them loudly and at length to their long-suffering nearest and dearest on their mobile phones. The train was going to terminate at Perth and passengers for Inverness would have to proceed by bus.

This was the scene from the raised walkway as I exited Waverley station. Thankfully Mr H was cooking a delicious meal at home and having eaten and drunk a glass of delicious beer I finally feel warm again.

I suppose the days will start lengthening now; I must try to pay attention!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.