Wild in the country

By colin

Seasonal thoughts from the piano stool.

I was looking for something seasonal but at the same time non-religious, and instead linking to the far more ancient tradition of celebrating the winter solstice. I don't have anything more ancient in my collection; I found this volume, 'The Scottish Students' Song Book' in Oundle Oxfam, one late Saturday afternoon. It was published in 1897, and still going strong. It was once owned by N Milner, who stamped his/her name over the first few pages. Under 'Songs of the Nations' it has 'God Save the King', which will do for the next coronation, and also the Austrian National Anthem, which went a bit out of fashion around 1944. Plus there's a whole set by Stephen C. Foster, who is one of my favourites.
Happy holiday for those fortunate enough to get a holiday (ambulances have been in our street every day this week, sometimes twice a day, bless them all.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.