The Creek

Today has been a mission. I came to Ken's place, boat in tow to do some fishing in one of the local dams.

Unfortunately it has been raining a lot. No, that is an understatement. Most of Queensland is underwater. I have never seen anything like it. The whole countryside is criss crossed with raging torrents of flooding creeks.

I left the car on the other side of the flooded creek at the end of Kens road. I crossed 3 flooded creeks to get here but this one was just a bit too high and fast running.

So I called Ken and he came down in his Landcruiser. He hitched my boat up and took that across the creek but we decided it was safe to leave the car on the other side.

Later we came back in my old Land Rover, Earl Grey. Well, after getting hung up on the driveway and having to be rescued by the Cruiser, again. Anyway, I digress. We decided to cross the creek in the Land Rover which turned into a rebacle. Water came straight in throught the radiator, onto the fan and as Ken put it, put out the fire. Now Ken and I were stuck in the middle of a raging creek.

Well we got out and took this picture to prove that we survived. While we were stuck in the creek, Ken suggested that we put it in reverse and ride it out on the ignition. It worked, the battery held out and we had Earl Grey going again in minute. Both of us were soaked.

So the boat and me are on this side of the creek and my car is on the other. And that is how the situation is going to stay until the creek level drops.

So much for bringing the boat here to do some fresh water fishing. There is more fresh water here that I know what to do with. At least there is plenty of other stuff to do.

Jassy is in doggy heaven

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.