A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Memories from childhood 3

This old Santa jug has been a family favourite for many years. It may have originally belonged to my grandma, but I certainly remember it from childhood Christmasses at my family home. The sweet white sauce for the pudding has always been served in it and when Christmas Dinner transferred to my house when the children were young - Santa was passed on to me.

Alas he wasn't used this year as there were only two of us for pudding and sauce so he remained an ornament. He doesn't dish wash and is rather fiddly to wash to get the sauce out of all the nooks and crannies.

He isn't precious porcelain - just cheap pottery. I believe he was on offer from Birds custard, probably in the 1950's. Maybe someone out there in blipland also has one.

Any way I wanted to share him with you before he goes away in the sidebaord for another 11 months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.