Seng's Foties

By sengawishart

Back Home

Happy New Year! I'm back in my home town of Glenrothes, Fife with my family for the festivities! Being a new town, only 65 years young, some would argue that we can't have iconic buldings yet. I beg to differ, and have managed to get two in the same photograph.

Both in the centre of town, on the left is Raeburn Heights - the only hi-rise block of flats/apartments in Glenrothes. Apparently the story goes that once built, they were deemed too high by the development corporation and they decided to build nothing else that high, even the office buildings. It now towers above all the other buildings throughout the town and can be seen for miles around.

To the right is St Columba's Church, recognisable by its coloured glass roof. I was in it many times as a child - being closest to my primary school, Warout, we went there for Christmas and Easter assemblies.

The road is Church Street, one of the main roads in Glenrothes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.