Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Happy Birthday Mum!

It's my mother's birthday today. It's an awkward time of year. Before Christmas it seems so far off and so I never get a card sorted to leave down home for her. Then by the time I'm back in Edinburgh on 27/28th December we're only just recieving post from 15th Dec so there's no way a card posted would get there in time even if it wasn't on a sunday and followed by a handful of bank holidays!

On the phone last night I told her that as I hadn't sent a card, I'd put extra effort in to finding a great blip today, something in her honour, in place of a card and I came up with the perfect plan. She loves those white daisies that you get at the supermarket so I'll get some of them. I'll attempt to set up a "studio" to get the nice lighting and the black background and then once I get a good shot, I'll do something funky with it in photoshop. How appropriate to have birthday flowers. Well you might have noticed, this isn't a white daisy.

My plan failed when I hadn't allowed for quite how cold it would be outside. By the end of the street my chest was tight and I had to give up. It's ok I thought, I need milk, I can buy one of those "Big Green Ones" and do something nice with chocolates instead, only they were sold out.

So... sorry mum, you'll have to make do with this sweet, sticky, boozy slice of Christmas Birthday cake but I have given it a dusting of your favourite photo treatment.

Happy Birthday Mum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.