suresnes

By suresnes

Funeral

Today was my Granddad Tony's funeral. He died three weeks ago, from various health problems, aged 86. The funeral was delayed so his youngest son (my uncle and my dad's brother) could make it over from the states, where he lives.

The funeral was actually really lovely - I think the best word to describe it would be 'peaceful'. My uncle read a tribute to his dad, which was lovely and funny and encapsulated him very well, and I read a poem by Alexander Pope about learning, because he had worked in education all his life. Afterwards we went back to my grandma's house and had some food, and we left to go home about 5pm. My dad was clearly very sad in the evening, but we watched University Challenge and QI and I think that cheered him up a bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.