H2 is playing at blipping

By H2

St Saviourgate

These imposing pillars are at the front of York's Central Methodist church. I used to live on this street and would pass this building every day, but now I really notice it when I see it.

Especially when the stonework is set against such an amazing blue sky.

As I mentioned last Sunday, I spent my teenage years in a methodist church and the influence of the Wesleys is still present in my Christian consciousness. Nothing like a great Charles Wesley hymn to rouse one's spirits. I think this is probably my favourite - the mixture of theological wondrousness and personal nostalgia brings me out in goosebumps every time I sing it.

On a local interest note, Central Methodist was built in 1840 to mark the centenary of the foundation of Methodism - so is a new build for central York. The street was bombed in a Zeppelin raid in the first world war and, although it has some lovely Georgian houses (including the one I used to inhabit the attic of), it also boasts some of the most revolting concrete monstrosities in the known world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.