middleman

By middleman

Frenzy

Starting into the murky depths of the Thames always makes me think of Hitchcock, especially when it's dark. And cold. And raining.

Arrived in a rain-splattered London late afternoon, with just enough time for a wee trip East to Rough Trade off Brick Lane for a browse and with some Christmas money burning a rapidly-increasing hole in my pocket. In the end, didn't buy a great deal but something happened which happens pretty rarely these days. Namely, I walked in to the store, didn't recognise what they were playing and on enquiring it turned out to be someone I'd never heard of. Someone though that is right up my street. Impulse purchase made, I'd file this one firmly and squarely under glacial electro pop of the highest order.

Drinks with a pal in Bethnal Green, then down to the hotel in Southwark and a walk by the river and the almost-deserted streets. Pretty great. And, made me think of one of my favourite 'London' albums, the conceptual work from The Good The Bad & The Queen, a fabulous little taster coming right up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.