Stravaiger

By stravaig

No Gain Without Pain

I was going to seek a meeting with the sage that invented the 'no gain without pain' slogan. But having quickly checked it seems the origin is quite old :

They must take pain that look for any gayn.
[1577 N. Breton Works of Young Wit 33V]


The reason? I blipped last Weds (5 Jan) about how we went to play badminton for the first time in decades and had determined to book a court again this week for another bash. Well, we've played.......but I've aggravated a foot injury hence the freeze spray which, with a large Scotch, will be keeping me company tonight (plus maybe some pain killers before bed). It'll be better for next week's game.

'No gain withoug pain' seems too pithy a phrase but (grudgingly) it is accurate. I'm sure I'll be fitter and the play more co-ordinated as each week goes by.

Now where's the Scotch..............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.