Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

The Stand

Since Christmas, I've felt increasingly like I'm living through Stephen King's "The Stand" (pauses to reflect on just how good Stephen King used to be...)

Every time I turn on the news, there's 'flu. I come to work, there's coughing and spluttering. At the conference this week - more conversations about swine 'flu.

So far (and I realise I'm setting myself up for a fall here) I've escaped and am starting to feel like Stu (which is odd, as I'm a woman, but I can't remember the names of any of the female "immune" characters...)

I then came into work the other day and found this "'flu kit" sat next to the office microwave. Aargh! There IS no escape!

Oh and I'm still feeling a tad "eeuuuuugghhh!" by the fact that when I got home from work yesterday, I took my boots off and walked in my socks across the floor, only to feel a "pop," "squidge" under my right foot. I looked down and realised that I'd stepped on the gloopy remains of a mostly-eaten mouse. Gloopy remains which were now merrily soaking their way through my sock and onto my foot :-(

I do like my cat (Elvis) but there are some times when I really could quite happily swap him for a goldfish....

It's more germ-tastic in large

And yes. I have changed my photo for today. The random macro one was just too, too dull. So - if you think this is dull, be thankful you missed the original one ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.