Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

Another treasure

This is my five year diary started on 1st January 1979, when I was 15.

It was my first diary, I know, it seems very odd, but 15 year olds seemed a lot younger then, than they do now! I remember being so pleased at this unexpected Christmas gift from my parents, determining to keep writing in it for the full 5 years.

I wrote in it for the first 7 months then trailed off, and by the end of August 1979, my jottings were over.

Tales of oil shortages that meant school was closed for longer over Christmas, bacon shortages, lightening bus strikes - life was exciting then!

My 10 year old daughter was howling laughing reading about my adolescent antics, or lack of them, as she sees it. There was no Trafford Centre, endless parties and sleepovers when I was in my teens. Life was a lot simpler then and I think my friends and I were quite easily pleased.

The champagne corks with sixpences in, also hold happy memories for me.

I don't think anything will persuade me to throw these little treasures out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.