Tay Ghillie

By challum

What a cracker!

A right frosty morning today as I cycled out of Edinburgh, down the River Almond before joining the cycle path near Cramond Brig which I followed to South Queensferry and the Forth Road Bridge. Crossing the brig, I turned off and headed through Rosyth before reaching the pretty village of Limekilns which is where today's photograph comes from. It was all going so well until I came to a corner that hadn't yet been touched by the early morning sunshine and still covered with frost I came off my bike. Thankfully the camber of the road took me into the verge and away from the cars. No harm done - just a graze to my knee and elbow and a bent bar-end shifter, so I picked myself up and continued on my way. Culross came soon and was even prettier than Limekilns but I didn't tarry and soon joined the new looking cycle path which I followed all the way to the Kincardine Bridge. Crossing the bridge the landscape changed suddenly and I was now in the industrial heartland of Grangemouth and busy roads all the way to just beyond Bo'ness where I soon turned onto quiet lanes through Dalmeny Estate and back to the Forth Bridge and home fifteen minutes after. 86kms in just under 5 hours. 516 kms so far this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.